BJP reshuffles state leadership, appoints new chiefs for Punjab, Telangana, Andhra & Jharkhand


New Delhi: In a big organisational rejig, the BJP on Tuesday named Union minister G Kishan Reddy, Sunil Jakhar and Babulal Marandi its president in Telangana, Punjab and Jharkhand respectively.

In a statement, the party also announced former Union minister D Purandeswari as its new Andhra Pradesh president and brought in OBC leader Etela Rajender as its election management committee chairperson in the poll-bound Telangana.

The development highlights the BJP’s emphasis to set its house in order in Telangana where many relatively new but powerful entrants to the party were against the leadership of Bandi Sanjay Kumar.

Sources said Kumar may be inducted as a minister in the central government in a reshuffle in the coming days.

Jakhar replaces Ahwani Sharma while Marandi comes in the place of Deepak Prakash.

The rejig is significant in the primacy given to leaders who have joined the BJP from other parties. Jakhar and Rajender left the Congress and the BRS respectively to join the BJP. Purandeswari was in the Congress and a minister in the UPA government.

The development will further fuel the speculation about a Cabinet rejig.

This report is auto-generated from PTI news service. ThePrint holds no responsibility for its content.

Also read: NCP’s Pune city unit passes resolution backing Sharad Pawar


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Previous Post

Ratan Tata advises people to do this before driving their cars during monsoon

Next Post

CA Intermediate, Final Results To Be OUT Tomorrow at

Related Posts